Q1 | Q2 | Q3 | Q4
Return To Algebra 1B ]

Algebra 1B Classwork and Homework
Mr. Cantlin's Class - 2004-2005

Quarter 3
Week of February 28, 2005
Mon. 2/28/2005 Class: Review graded "factoring polynomials" quiz, definition of a locus of points, the parabola as a locus of points, wax paper parabola exercise.
HW: None.
Tues. 3/1/2005 Class: Acres to Square Feet, Midpoint Formula (AHSGE Ref. Sheet), Graphing Quadratic Functions, Axis of Symmetry, Vertex of a Parabola.
HW: None.
Wed. 3/2/2005 Class: End of quarter exam practice: basic math, scientific notation, exponent rules, polynomials, factoring polynomials, parabolas.
HW: None.
Thur. 3/3/2005 Class: End of quarter test practice/review.
HW: Math Notebooks.
Fri. 3/4/2005 Class: End of Quarter Test.
HW: None.

Week of February 21, 2005
Mon. 2/21/2005 Class: Review Chapter 9 Practice Quiz on Factoring Polynomials.
HW: None.
Tues. 2/22/2005 Class: Issue AHSGE Workbooks, review content of workbooks, reference page. Review factoring polynomials.
HW: None.
Wed. 2/23/2005 Class: Area of Trapezoid, the Distance Formula, Quiz (factoring polynomials).
HW: None.
Thur. 2/24/2005 Class: Sum of Interiors Angle Formula, Review factoring quiz, Graphing y=x^2, y=|x|. y=sqrt(x).
HW: None.
Fri. 2/25/2005 Class: Intro. to Quadratic Formula, Quiz 6 (factoring polynomials).
HW: None.

Week of February 14, 2005
Mon. 2/14/2005 Class: Ch. 9-5, Factoring Differences of Squares, Classwork: Page 505 # 22, 24, 25.
HW: None.
Tues. 2/15/2005 Class: Finish Ch. 9-5, Factoring Using A Difference of Squares.
HW: Worksheet 9-5 Factoring Using a Difference of Squares (Page 549) #1-18 (skip 5 & 10), #19-24 extra credit.
Wed. 2/16/2005 Class:Ch. 9-6, Factoring Perfect Square Trinomials. Factoring Tips Study Guide (Click Here)
HW: Page 513, #25, 28, 29, 30, 35.
Thur. 2/17/2005 Class: Practice factoring polynomials.
HW: None (quiz tomorrow).
Fri. 2/18/2005 Class: Quiz, Ch. 9 - "Factoring Polynomials."
HW: None.

Week of February 7, 2005
Mon. 2/7/2005 Class: Practice factoring trinomials, Signed Midterm Progress Reports Due .
HW: Study for factoring trinomial quiz.
Tues. 2/8/2005 Class: Practice factoring trinomials, Quiz (Ch. 9-3, Factoring Trinomials), Mini-review of factoring by grouping.
HW: Factoring by grouping practice, Page 494 #78-83.
Wed. 2/9/2005 Class:Ch. 9-4, Factoring Trinomials of the Form ax^2 +bx+c=0.
HW: Page 499 #15-21 odd. FYI: Network Theory Information.
Thur. 2/10/2005 Class: Practice factoring trinomials of the Form ax^2 +bx+c=0.
HW: Worksheet 9-4, Factoring Trinomials (Page 543).
Fri. 2/11/2005 Class: Practice - Factoring Trinomials, Worksheet 9-4, Factoring Trinomials (Page 543), Extra Practice -- Lesson 9-4 on Page 840 Column 1 (except #13 and 16)..
HW: Worksheet 9-4, Factoring Trinomials (Page 543).

Week of January 31, 2005
Mon. 1/31/2005 Class: Review graded exams, Q3 Progress Report Preview.
HW: None.
Tues. 2/1/2005 Class: Ch. 9-1, "Factors and Greatest Common Factors."
HW: Page 478 #32-35, 44, 45, 51-56.
Wed. 2/2/2005 Class:Ch. 9-2, "Factoring Using the Distributive Property."
HW: Page 484 #17-25 odd, 49, 51.
Thur. 2/3/2005 Class: Ch. 9-3, Factoring Quadratic Trinomials.
HW: Pages 492-493 #4, 5, 10, 11, 17-21, 37-41.
Fri. 2/4/2005 Class: Practice - factoring trinomials.
HW: Worksheet 9-3 "Factoring Trinomials (Page 537)."

Week of January 24, 2005
Mon. 1/24/2005 Class: Review graded quizzes.
HW: Update math notebooks, exam Friday..
Tues. 1/25/2005 Class: Ch. 8-7 "Multiplying Polynomials."
HW: Page 455 #16, 19, 22, 31, 37, 38.
Wed. 1/26/2005 Class:Ch. 8-8 "Special Products, Classwork Problems #5-10 on Page 461."
HW: Study for exam (use study guide on pages 465-468, update math notebooks .
Thur. 1/27/2005 Class: Review for exam using the "End of Chapter 8 Study Guide" (pages 464-468).
HW: Study for Ch. 8 exam, update math notebooks.
Fri. 1/28/2005 Class: Chapter 8 Exam.
HW: None.

Week of January 17, 2005
Mon. 1/17/2005 Class: Review graded quizzes.
HW: None.
Tues. 1/18/2005 Class: Sound intensity problem (Page 422 # 40-42), Ch. 8-4, "Polynomials."
HW: Pages 434-435, #25-36 and #45-50.
Wed. 1/19/2005 Class:Ch. 8-5 "Adding and Subtracting Polynomials."
HW: Page 441 # 12-21.
Thur. 1/20/2005 Class: Ch. 8-6 "Multiplying a Polynomial by a Monomial."
HW: Page 446 #4-11.
Fri. 1/21/2005 Class: Quiz.
HW: Extra Credit, Page 448 Problem No. 62.

Week of January 10, 2005
Mon. 1/10/2005 Class: Exponent Rules and Scientific Notation practice.
HW: None.
Tues. 1/11/2005 Class: Finish Ch. 8-1, "Multiplying Monomials". Important: Definition of Monomial!
HW: Page 413 #2-9 and 13, 14 (note: area of triangle is:
(1/2)*base*height).
Wed. 1/12/2005 Class:Practice: multiplying monomials.
HW: Worksheet 8-3 (Page 468), Scientific Notation and Monomials.
Thur. 1/13/2005 Class: Finish Ch. 8-2, Dividing Monomials, In-class Worksheet 8-2 (Page 463) Dividing Monomials.
HW: Study for quiz tomorrow.
Fri. 1/14/2005 Class: Quiz.
HW: None.

Week of January 3, 2005
Mon. 1/3/2005 Class: No Classes.
HW: .
Tues. 1/4/2005 Class: No Classes.
HW: .
Wed. 1/5/2005 Class:Exponent Rules - Reference Chapter 8-1 and 8-2.
HW: Page 413 #21-26 and Page 421 #14-22.
Thur. 1/6/2005 Class: Ch. 8-3, "Scientific Notation."
HW: Exponent Rules Quiz Friday.
Fri. 1/7/2005 Class: Exponent Rules Quiz, Finish Ch. 8-3, Multiplying and Dividing using scientific notation.
HW: (a) Worksheet 8-3, Scientific Notation (Page 467) (b) Textbook, Page 429 #43-52.

Prior Quarters
(Q1 Click Here) (Q2 Click Here)

 
Q1 | Q2 | Q3 | Q4
Return To Algebra 1B ]